Nuit Blanche in Sant Cugat

Sant CugatLast Saturday I was in Sant Cugat del Vallès, near Barcelona, because I got the information that a kind of Nuit Blanche was taking place.

For those who do not know what the Nuit Blanche is: Nuit Blanche (All-Nighter, in English) is a night art festival where museums, art galleries, cultural centers and some shops open until late at night to shine the city with performances (dance, theater, etc), concerts and installations open to anyone and for free. Normally it is meant to happen in Autumn-Winter time (for example, in October). Sometimes, if it is organised in Summer time is called White Night Festival.

I had never heard about it until I lived in Brussels. Then I enjoyed my first Nuit Blanche in 2013. Later, I discovered that in 2008, Barcelona joined this initiative, but I think they have not done it anymore.

Swing dance with the Big-Band Fusió
Swing dance with the Big-Band Fusió

So, I was grateful to know that I could enjoy it again near my current home, even if it was in a smaller city and a bit different compared to Brussels’ Nuit Blanche. In Sant Cugat, this event is normally organised in June by a group of shops and the town hall, so the evening is focused on opening the shops until late with (sometimes) discounts and stands in the streets. Other activities are organised, of course: dance exhibitions, concerts, little fashion shows, tables and places to eat outdoors, activities for children and a special opening of the Monastery museum.

You can imagine already what was my interest, can’t you? Yes, I wanted to see and take pictures of the dance exhibitions! I can’t help it! So I went to Plaça Octavià where almost all the dance exhibitions happened and I tried to be in the first line. Unfortunately, I missed some shows but I took some nice photos of the girls (and two little brave boys) dancing.

Escola de Música i Dansa Fusió 

Europa International School

SBK Bachata exhibition

(I think the Bachata ones are very dramatic, don’t you agree? It is almost cinema…)

And here I finish with my little article about the Nuit Blanche in Sant Cugat del Vallès.

I hope you have enjoyed the photos.

2 thoughts on “Nuit Blanche in Sant Cugat

Dime

